Next to Last Blog Challenge Day–Yippee!

John Looking a Bit Ragged
John Looking a Bit Ragged

Today’s blog is about a secret teenage crush–Oh, I had a doozy, though it was more of a tween-age crush.  When I was twelve, I feel madly in love with John Lennon. And, of course, the rest of the Beatles.  But it was John who moved me.  I loved his sense of humor, the rebellion roiling just beneath his cool surface, and his sexiness, though at that time, I really didn’t know it WAS sexiness.  I just adored him and his nasal voice.

The crush never left me.  Unfortunately, he left us all or was taken from us.  I loved his confessional time with Yoko, his house-husband experience, his foray into being a real father with Sean.  I love the personal lyrics, the gentleness under a rough exterior.  Somehow, he made me feel I knew him. 

I used to have fantasies that when I grew up, I’d move to NYC and deliver pizzas (I knew he did eat them) and I’d deliver them to the Dakota.  He’s answer the door; somehow, I’d be wearing a short skirt and I’d be on roller skates (I cannot skate at all) and he’d fall madly in love with me, leave Yoko and we’d live happily ever after.  Okay, so I was 35 when I had this fantasy….

I often wonder what he would be doing if he were still here.  I can imagine him still playing music, still doodling and writing.  If only….

Leave a Reply

