Day 7-Five Songs That Bring Back Memories

I’ve always loved music but been terrible about knowing who sang what.  So, I’ll just give the titles as I remember them and why the song meant something to me.

First, “I Could Have Danced All Night” from My Fair Lady.  When I was six or seven, my dad got a record player and began what has turned out to be an excellent collection.  This song, which I belted out at the top of my lungs while dancing through our living room, began my lifelong love affair with Broadway musicals.  For years, I wanted to be Julie Andrews, singing my way through life.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get the voice to go with the desire.

Next, it’s gotta be “I Want To Hold Your Hand” by the Beatles.  I heard it on my transistor radio, the one I got for Christmas in sixth grade.  Hearing that song still brings a smile to my face–it just makes me happy.

Oh, there are so many from high school–“Unchained Melody” by the Righteous Brothers brings back dances at the Youth Center.  I rarely had dates for these but joined the other wallflowers who clung to the back of the room, hoping and praying some young man would ask us to dance.  This song made me feel passion stirring–not for anyone in particular, just passion itself flooding my veins.  Or maybe it was hormones…

“Close To You” (I think that’s the title) reminds me of leaving my first love and going off to college.  I used to sing it all the time, reminding myself of him and his blue eyes.

And finally, a tie between “Nobody Does It Better” and “It Don’t Matter to Me”–songs my second love and I used to make-out to—

I’ve had only two great loves in my life, so that’s the end of my memory music.  Of course, there are hundreds of other songs I could mention, but these are the best.

Leave a Reply

