Five Things You Might Not Know About Me

Here goes day 2 of the August Blog Challenge:  Five Things You Might Not Know About Me

First, you might not know I hold a yellow belt in Kung Fu.  Yes,  a yellow belt is the lowest level of achievement and yes, it’s been over 25 years since I last did a kata but I, do, indeed hold that belt.  I may not look like a ninja but looks are deceiving!

Second, I love to sing!  I sing in the shower, in the car and, yes, in front of the mirror where I do a mean Janice Joplin.  Take another little piece of my heart!

Third, I love to go camping.  Granted, at this point in my life, I define camping as staying in a comfy log cabin but still, I love a wood fire and roasting marshmallows.  I love watching for deer in the dusk and foxes late at night.  I enjoy the morning birdsong and the smell of coffee perking on the embers.  And, while I might scream if I see a large bug, I get over it quickly.

Fourth, I’m not a good swimmer.  But I float very well.  You know what that means, right?  My body has more fat than muscle.  When I think of it this way, it’s a bit depressing but when I think of being lost at sea, I like the idea that I could float my way to some deserted island.

Last, though I’m older, I’m not a lot wiser.  Basically, I’m still the same old girl I used to be.  I still love dancing in the moonlight, playing cards, drinking frosty margaritas, and putting my toes in the sand.  I still love my friends and my family.  I still get misty when I see the blue sky above me.  I still dress in red,  white and blue on the Fourth of July and make my famous patriotic trifle.  I’m grayer and saggier than I used to be, but inside, my heart still pumps for joy at the sight of a baby or a butterfly in the yard.  I’m still in love with life, grateful for every moment.  I still love nothing more than to curl up on a rainy day with a good book. Writing still gives me the greatest pleasure.  And I’m still looking ahead, waiting to see what wonderful thing the next day will bring.

Leave a Reply

